People@Work: Mykal Harp

Mar. 22, 2013 @ 03:24 PM

NAME: Mykal Harp

AGE: 48

FAMILY: Interestingly, my maternal grandfather is from North Carolina, although I don't know any of his family that might still be around. Somehow he ended up in the Northwest, where my mother met my father and they settled on the Oregon coast — where they had me and my older brother. My father and brother still live in the the same small town where I was born. I moved on to the "big" city of Portland when I was 20, working my way through the corporate world of banking manufacturing. I have two boys from my first marriage, who still live in Oregon. In 2008, I reunited with my high school sweetheart and moved out to North Carolina to be with him. This added three more boys (from his first marriage) to our family. We have five boys altogether, who live across the United States but come to visit often.

POSITION: Owner and Manager of Dandalia Bakery & CoffeeHouse and (the coming-soon restaurant and wine bar) The Red Sofa

HOMETOWN: North Bend, Ore.

What are five most frequently played songs on your iPod playlist? Ha! Who has time to create playlists? I usually will pull up Pandora and select the type of music I need for the moment — country (if I want to rock out), oldies rock (if my husband is with me) or spa radio (if I need to relax and reflect).

What is your favorite movie? Before age 35, "Grease," after age 35, "Love Actually"

What is your favorite book? "Where the Red Fern Grows" — I cry every time, and I've read it to both of my boys and cried through it with them.

Is there a hobby you can't live without? Trying new restaurants — I drag my husband to every new restaurant I can find. I love quality products done well.

Is there an item or collectible you hold dear? Three nick-nack display boxes my mother had put together and had hanging on the wall in her home. When she passed away, I kept them intact just the way they were and put them in my home. Every time I pass by them, I see all the little bits she had collected over the years in these display boxes that represented her. It has just little bits and pieces she picked up — thimbles, a miniature tea set, an antique porcelain doll — things no one else would ever probably care about, but she had an artistic eye and it represents my mother perfectly.

Where would someone be most likely to find you on a Saturday night? Either at a restaurant enjoying a quality meal or at home on the couch snuggling with my husband.

What was your dream job when you were a child? Teacher — I even kept an imaginary record of students and their attendance! I had a blackboard I could write on, and unlike most children who would go to the toy aisle in a store, I went to the office products aisle (this was before they had whole stores dedicated to my favorite stuff!). I still buy more pens than most people would go through in a lifetime

What are some of your favorite things? Sitting by the fire when it's raining, driving with the top down when it's sunny, holding hands with my husband, and watching someone's face when they get their dream cake all decorated just for them

What would be your last meal? Fresh-baked French bread, Dungeness crab, Tillamook cheese and a bottle of Abacela wine — and I would have to insist on having family and friends around to make it perfect!

Who would be your ideal dinner guests? (Name three, living or dead) My husband and our five boys and their respective girlfriends or spouses.

What is something interesting most people don't know about you? That I married my high school boyfriend 28 years after we broke up! In high school, I was a freshman and he was a senior, and everyone thought the age difference (three years) was inappropriate! Now, of course, no one cares. But then, there was a lot of pressure, and eventually he moved away and we lost touch. Twenty-eight years later, we finally reconnected, and I eventually moved here to be with him.

Ideal vacation spot: Anywhere warm!

Favorite professional sports team: "Cake Boss,""Cupcake Wars,""Ace of Cakes" — do they count?

If you were given $5,000 to donate to a non-profit organization, which would you pick? I would love to invest in people and help create their dreams — especially in small business!

What's the worst injury you've ever had? [I was] 13 years old and fell off of a swing during my birthday slumber party — broke my arm and the party was over!

Ever had a brush with celebrity? Went to a Billy Joel concert with my five best girlfriends when I was in my 20s and had the worse nose-bleed seats you can imagine. Some guy comes up to us and asks if we want front row seats. I was skeptical, but then Billy Joel said he wanted the "true" fans in the first two rows at his concerts instead of someone who paid $300 for the best seats and then just sat there. As we head down to the front row, I ask to wait a moment for my husband to catch up, and he just looked at us and said, "Girls only in the front two rows!" Ha! My husband at the time had to stay in the nose-bleed seats while us girls got to enjoy a great show from the first row, and Billy Joel put on an awesome concert for us.

What would you like to know about the future? When my next nap is

Would you go bungee jumping or skydiving? Bungee — It's more of a ride [because] you go down AND bounce back up!

Do you have a tattoo? No, but seriously thinking of getting one that says "compassion." We need more compassion for ourselves and for others.

Any fears or phobias? Jumping spiders! Freaky!

Ever been outside the United States? Canada and Mexico — would really love to travel more!

Favorite kind of cookie? Chocolate with white chocolate chips — It's a cookie I fell in love with in Portland from a bakery there, and when I started my own bakery in North Carolina, I tried to recreate it as much as possible. It is so yummy!

Favorite season? Fall — love the colors and weather

Would you consider plastic surgery if someone else paid for it? No thank you, I am what I am — take it or leave it. I believe you should be represented by your spirit and attitude — not by your physical attributes.

Which actor would portray you in a movie about your life? Whatever one would be willing to take on the role — good luck!

Biggest pet peeve? People who get upset about the little things ... let's just get along people!

What's your usual wake-up time in the morning? 5 or 6 a.m.

What talent do you wish you had? Singing! I sing, but everyone wishes I wouldn't! There's something about expressing yourself through song that is so wonderful!

Ever seen a ghost? No, but I do know that my grandmother (my namesake) and mother are always with me, and I feel their presence every day.

What superhero power would you most like to have? To fly — I would so love to be able to fly over the rooftops and feel the wind through my hair without all the traffic!

What was your favorite TV show when you were growing up? I have a very limited number of shows I watched as a child. I remember "Star Trek" (my mother watched it) and "Gunsmoke" (my dad watched it). I do remember watching cartoons on Saturday morning.

What's your cell phone ringtone? I have several — my husband's ring is Toby Keith's "I'm only as good as I once was."

Favorite dessert? Too many to choose from! My favorite of all time was a dessert my mother used to make with raspberries out of our backyard. It was a raspberry cream cheese pie. I'm still working on a recipe for it, but I don't have it quite as good as her's was YET.

Who's your best friend and why? My husband — we can talk about any and everything all day long.

If you could go back in time and change one historic event, what would it be? The consequences of something like that boggles my mind. I wouldn't change anything. I truly feel that we go through the trials of our lives to learn from them and expand to be better people. I wouldn't take that away from myself or from others.

If you could create one rule that all society had to live by, what would it be? Treat each other with respect and play well together!

How do you define success? Happiness — if I am happy, then I have been successful. If the people around me are happy, then I have been even more successful.

Hamburger or pizza? Pizza.

Describe your life philosophy in six words or less: Attitude and intention create your future.