Lee NAHS holds induction ceremony

Feb. 27, 2013 @ 11:13 PM

The Lee County High School National Art Honor Society recently held its induction ceremony in the Board of Education room on the Lee County campus with 34 young artists being recognized. Guests were treated to hors d’oeuvres prepared by the Lee County High School Culinary Arts department while enjoying NAHS member’s artwork that was on display. Distinguished guests included school board members Dr. Lynn Smith, Tamara Brogan and LCS superintendent Dr. Jeff Moss.

NAHS President Elizabeth Gay opened the ceremony by welcoming everyone and shared the history and purpose of the NAHS, as well as highlighted activities and community service events that the group has participated in this school year. Gay then recognized this year’s LCHS NAHS officers, which included: Monica Jones, Vice President; Jenna Evans and Ashlyn Vogelsang, Co-Secretaries; Stephen Kirik, Treasurer; Carmen O’Quinn, Special Ceremonies; and Cydney Smith and Autumn Melby, Co-Historians.

NAHS faculty co-advisers Jody Stouffer and Brian Wohleben then acknowledged the 16 NAHS members that were renewing their memberships, which included: Joseph Adcock, Mary Grace Beard, Elyse Cooper, Elizabeth Gay, Stephen Kirik, Autumn Melby, Phillip Morie, Carmen O’Quinn, Ross Peele, Michael Russell, Micaela Schlott, Malorie Sloan, Savannah Swartout, Ashlyn Vogelsang, Caroline West and Jacob Williams.

NAHS Vice President Monica Jones shared the purpose of the candlelighting ceremony before the 18 new members were inducted. Newly inducted NAHS members included Sarah Batten, Morgan Cox, Lydia Cooper, Alex Durazo, Jenna Evans, Erin Fogarty, Kaitlin Gotschalk, Nikki Hoover, Richard Hoyle, Monica Jones, Zoe Kovasckitz, Brittany Kremer, Joli LeBrun, Meredith Love, Cole Patterson, Rachel Picard, Cydney Smith and Kathryn Thomann.

Jones then introduced the evening’s guest speaker, Sanford Brush and Palette member Tony Staninas. He delivered an inspiring message encouraging the young artists to stay true to their artistic talents and to always be aware of opportunities to share their artistic abilities in the community. Stouffer closed the ceremony by thanking the parents for their nurturing support of their young artists.