Residents set for election

Sep. 08, 2013 @ 05:03 AM

Polls open for the city’s first municipal primary — which will determine Sanford’s next mayor and the outcome of the city’s $14.5 million bond referendums — at 6:30 a.m. Tuesday.

School will be in session during a bulk of the voting, which ends at 7:30 p.m., and Lee County Elections Director Nancy Kimble urged residents to avoid voting during peak hours, between 7:15-8 a.m. and 1:45-3:30 p.m., if possible.

“That’s when parents will be dropping off and picking up students,” she said. “And [voters] need to be very careful.”

All of the city of Sanford polling sites will be open, excluding the Tramway Elementary School site, and all of those Precinct C2 voters are asked to vote at Southern Lee High School.

Democratic voters

Registered Democrats within city limits will decide between incumbent Cornelia Olive, a retired newspaper editor, and challenger Chet Mann, a local mortgage banker, for the city’s mayoral seat, and between incumbent L.I. “Poly” Cohen, former CEO of Lee Iron & Metal, and challenger Norman “Chas” Post III, a local attorney, for the Democratic nominee for the at-large district seat. Democrats residing within Ward 3 will also chose between incumbent James “JD” Williams, owner of Williams Insurance Agency, and Ervin Fox, a local activist.  

Republican voters

The city’s registered Republicans will chose between local blogger and retired political consultant Keith Clark and Veterans Affairs Benefit Briefer Max Dolan for their party’s nominee for the at-large district seat.

Unaffiliated voters

Unaffiliated voters can chose which party’s primary they’d like to vote in, but they may only select one.

All of the city voters will consider the city’s bond referendums, which include an expansion of the Endor Iron Furnace Greenway, installing and repairing sidewalks, improving the streetscape for downtown Sanford and Jonesboro and creating an open space with an interactive play area and water features. If all of the projects were approved by the voters and construction began on each project at the same time, the property tax impact would be an increase of 5.2 cents per $100 of valuation. However, city officials have said they will minimize the tax impact on residents.

Sample ballots, candidate profiles and in-depth information about the bonds can be found online at

Precinct Judges 2013 Municipal Primary Election

* Precinct A1 Southern Lee

Lucinda Alston (Head judge)

Diana Thomas

Julia Garcia

* Precinct A2 J. Glenn Edwards

Mary Upchurch (Head judge)

Stephen Coble

Kathy Jordan

* Precinct B2 BT Bullock

Ken Laughinghouse  (Head judge)

Gary Tracy

Joe Johnson

* Precinct  C2 Tramway (Will vote at Southern Lee)

Gerri Hearn (Head judge)

Wendell McGee

Shirley Clark

* Precinct  D1 JR Ingram

Emily Lucas (Head judge)

Camilla Vogler

Martha Underwood

* Precinct D2 American Legion

Eddie Winstead (Head judge)

Trevis Averett

Eric Davidson

* Precinct E2 East Lee

Sorrell Saunders (Head judge)

Norma Smith

Fran Remington