Chatham County officers recognized

Jan. 25, 2013 @ 05:00 AM

Chatham County Sheriff Richard Webster recognized several officers during the department’s recent annual celebration.

“I would put this staff up against any in the state,” Webster said. “It’s a pleasure being your sheriff.”

Deputy Luke Scala was awarded officer of the year and Sgt. Tammy Kirkman was named detention officer of the year. Maj. Mike Roberson was named top gun and Sgt. Mike Szpunar was named for community service.

Sgt. Joseph Alston, Corp. Paul Carroll, Detention Officer James Murdock, Deputy Shawn Petty, Detective Will Summers and Detective Phillip Richard received meritorious achievement awards and Deputy David Chestnutt, Deputy Alyson Gardner, Sgt. Andre Gipson, Deputy Luke Scala, Sgt. David Scott, Lt. Doug Stuart, Detective Sean Szpunar and Deputy Amanda Trail were honored with an appreciation certificate. The School Resource Officers were also given a unit citation.

Officers were also recognized for their years of service with the sheriff’s office. The following were recognized with five years of service: Matthew Meyer, Chris Tipton, Will Summers, Stacey Cook, Maurice Wicker, Tommy Clark, Jarek Payden, Jonathon Hensley, Fred Langley and Ed Fawcett. For 10 years of service: Roy Allen, Kevin Carey, Steve Maynor, Daniel Tilley, Doug Stuart, Mike Bullis, Tracy Kelly, Brad Johnson and Mike Roberson. Charles Gardner was honored for 15 years, Richard Webster for 20 years and Gary Blankenship for 25 years of service.