Opinion: Letters to the Editor

Jun. 30, 2015 @ 08:37 AM

Men are fallible, God is not

To the Editor:
 
The U.S. Supreme Court does not always get it right. In Dredd Scott (1857) they ruled that black men were property and not citizens. In Plessy v. Ferguson (1896) they ruled that blacks were “separate but equal.” In Roe v. Wade (1973) they ruled that mothers could kill their unborn children. In each case the court got it wrong yet through a Civil War and civil unrest Dredd Scott and Plessy were undone. Today there are fewer abortions than ever and states are passing more and more restrictions to save more and more lives. Roe v. Wade is being undone little by little. So, what happens now that the Court has gotten it wrong again ruling that marriage is not solely between a man and a woman? I hope, and fervently pray, that the people will stand for the truth and fight until we return to sanity in sexuality.

Jun. 30, 2015 @ 08:37 AM

Thank you Deep River firefighters

One of my purposes in writing this letter is to express my thanks to the dedicated men who responded from the Deep River Volunteer Fire Department and to the North Carolina Forest Service in the quick response they gave to the call for help, when a fire spread on my property.
 

Jun. 28, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Local actions against fracking

To the Editor:

Across the United States, communities are taking control of their futures and well-being by banning fracking within their borders.


Jun. 27, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Times change and so does society

To the Editor:

Friday, in a 5-4 decision, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that state laws banning same-sex marriage are unconstitutional. 


Jun. 26, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Community is a source of pride

To the Editor:

Given the political rhetoric our community has witnessed over the past few months, let’s consider the positive.


Jun. 24, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Widespread voter fraud is a myth

To the Editor:

Your very pertinent editorial in Tuesday’s paper failed to discuss the alleged widespread voter fraud that inspired all the new voter registration legislation springing up like kudzu these days.


Jun. 23, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: America is not a theocracy

The North Carolina Religious Freedom Restoration Act is a misnomer.  It should be titled the "Bible Trumps the Constitution Act."

 

Jun. 21, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Freedom of speech carries heavy responsibility

To the Editor:

Before the death, before the blood, before a finger on the trigger, there were words. Someone, somewhere, taught Dylann Storm Roof to hate.


Jun. 21, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Solutions to mental illness within our grasp

To the Editor:

Suicide is a leading cause of death in the United States, and most suicides are a result of untreated mental illness.


Jun. 19, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: We have lost all common sense

To the Editor:

So, its come to this? A person who actually is genetically a male identifies himself as female, has surgery, applies makeup, dresses accordingly, and "voila!" He is a she!


Jun. 17, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: None caring Congress for U.S. Navy Vietnam veterans

To the Editor:

It has come of a common opinion amongst Vietnam War veterans that Congress tends to exclude mostly Blue Water Vietnam Veterans for VA benefits.


Jun. 15, 2015 @ 04:50 PM

LETTER: Newspaper got it wrong

To the Editor:

Allow me this opportunity to apologize to the Boys and Girls Cub of Sanford and Lee County, as well Brian Davis, for a story and editorial taking out of context my response to a question posed by The Sanford Herald. That question: "Why you voted the way you did on both the Johnston-Harnett-Lee Community Action change and the Salvation Army Change?"


Jun. 14, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Men are fallible, God is not

To the Editor:

The U.S. Supreme Court does not always get it right. In Dredd Scott (1857) they ruled that black men were property and not citizens.


Jun. 14, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Clarifying nonprofit funding

To the Editor:

On Friday June 12, The Sanford Herald ran a follow-up editorial regarding the Lee County Commissioner’s nonprofit funding decisions.


Jun. 10, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Where’s West Lee’s graduation?

To the Editor:

I would like to stand on my desk as a concerned parent and bring attention to an unfair decision at West Lee Middle School.


Jun. 09, 2015 @ 09:52 AM

LETTER: Previous board to blame for tax increase

To the Editor:

A property tax increase is being considered by the current commissioners. This tax increase is necessary because of deliberate action by the previous board.

They grabbed money from Sanford to fund their three-penny cut. Instead of cutting expenses, they spent even more. One scheme resulted in $1.5 million more annually.


Jun. 07, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: We need to invest in our community

To the Editor:

The subject of taxes is more volatile around here than the hot button issues of abortion, same-sex marriage and gun control.


Jun. 07, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: God’s spirit fills the void of man’s emptiness

To the Editor:

In his interview with Diane Sawyer, Bruce (now Caitlyn) Jenner said “I would sit in church and always wonder, ‘In God’s eyes, how does he see me?’”


Jun. 03, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Financially empower our youth

To the Editor:

Where have all of the jobs gone for our local teens?


Jun. 02, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: It's easy to decide on pressing issues

To the Editor:

There are three controversial issues currently in the news that are easy to determine which side to take, fracking, coal ash and the TPP (Trans-Pacific Partnership trade agreement).


May. 31, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Pass sweepstakes bill to keep people working

To the Editor:

I am in support of House Bill 922 to regulate the sweepstakes industry in North Carolina


May. 30, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Walking tour of Sanford provided facts, wonder

To the Editor:

I would like to thank the Railroad House Historical Association for hosting a walking tour of downtown Sanford on May 24.


May. 29, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: City should also consider children as it grows

To the Editor:

Recently I emailed the mayor and voiced my opinion about the lack of places for our young children to go.


May. 28, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: More services, most spending, means more taxes

To the Editor:

It’s fascinating to read your overly simplistic editorial about tax increases with a skeptical eye.


May. 27, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Vote for good citizens, not political parties

Conservatives have been determined and vociferous in defending partisan local elections in spite of the fact that we got along very well without them for many years.