Opinion: Letters to the Editor

Jul. 11, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Supreme Court decision addressed civil rights, not bibilical law

To the Editor:

What don't you understand about "All men are created equal..."?


Jul. 10, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Love lost with court ruling

To the Editor:

On June 26 many stated that love won but the truth is that love lost.


Jul. 10, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Secularists cannot rewrite history or deny truth

To the Editor:

The recent letter by one of Lee County's most prominent progressive secular humanist criticizing the biblical scholar, the Rev. Bruce MacInnes, forgot some important facts.


Jul. 09, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: 'We want the god we want and not the God who is'

To the Editor:

After reading Neil Rotter's letter to the editor published July 4 "U.S. Supreme was right in it decision," I was left to think about which one of his points I should respond to.


Jul. 09, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Consumers have a right to know of GMO

This past Independence Day, when the light cookout conversation morphed into a discussion of rights, I hope you made a point to think about the rights you hold when it comes to food.


Jul. 08, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Judgment day. You be the judge?

To the Editor:

Heaven, as I see it on this day, from the eyes of a fly on the wall, has two new arrivals.


Jul. 07, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: Trap-neuter-release of feral cats does work

To the Editor:

In response to Take 5 with Terrell Jones' discussion on Community Cats (published June 27), his opinion is somewhat misleading.


Jul. 07, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Trap-neuter-release of feral cats does work

To the Editor:

In response to Take 5 with Terrell Jones' discussion on Community Cats (published June 27), his opinion is somewhat misleading.

 

Jul. 05, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: God is still in control

To the Editor:

America’s previous concerns over attempts by Congress to legislate morality, will dwarf in comparison to their soon-coming attempts at legislating immorality.


Jul. 04, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: U.S. Supreme was right in its decision

To the Editor:

As the Rev. MacInnis said in his letter on June 30, the U.S. Supreme Court doesn’t always get it right.


Jul. 03, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: We can't stay silent when it comes to coal ash

To the Editor:

I was so hoping Charah would tell all (at the Sanford City Council meeting Monday): "We will build a new treatment plant to handle our waste from coal-ash drainage."

 

Jul. 03, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Declare independence from meat industry

To the Editor:

Nearly 240 years ago, our founding fathers declared our national independence from Great Britain. This Fourth of July, let's declare our independence from the meat industry. 


Jul. 02, 2015 @ 04:53 AM

LETTER: GOP losing on two fronts

To the Editor:

It is with some sadness that I write that the U.S. Supreme Court ruling for the Affordable Care Act has let the Republican Party off the hook.


Jul. 02, 2015 @ 04:52 AM

LETTER: Focusing on dirty energy doesn’t make sense

To the Editor:

Thank you to Charles Ritter for his letter (“Local actions against fracking,” June 28) enumerating the risks of fracking.


Jul. 01, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Human sexuality more opposing than thumbs

To the Editor:

Years ago Oprah Winfrey shared some research that, as I recall, revealed that most heterosexuals are not completely straight.


Jul. 01, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Voter fraud is all too real

To the Editor:  

Irene Smith’s recent letter to the editor about voter fraud being a myth revealed more than she probably thinks.


Jun. 30, 2015 @ 08:37 AM

Men are fallible, God is not

To the Editor:
 
The U.S. Supreme Court does not always get it right. In Dredd Scott (1857) they ruled that black men were property and not citizens. In Plessy v. Ferguson (1896) they ruled that blacks were “separate but equal.” In Roe v. Wade (1973) they ruled that mothers could kill their unborn children. In each case the court got it wrong yet through a Civil War and civil unrest Dredd Scott and Plessy were undone. Today there are fewer abortions than ever and states are passing more and more restrictions to save more and more lives. Roe v. Wade is being undone little by little. So, what happens now that the Court has gotten it wrong again ruling that marriage is not solely between a man and a woman? I hope, and fervently pray, that the people will stand for the truth and fight until we return to sanity in sexuality.

Jun. 30, 2015 @ 08:37 AM

Thank you Deep River firefighters

One of my purposes in writing this letter is to express my thanks to the dedicated men who responded from the Deep River Volunteer Fire Department and to the North Carolina Forest Service in the quick response they gave to the call for help, when a fire spread on my property.
 

Jun. 28, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Local actions against fracking

To the Editor:

Across the United States, communities are taking control of their futures and well-being by banning fracking within their borders.


Jun. 27, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Times change and so does society

To the Editor:

Friday, in a 5-4 decision, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that state laws banning same-sex marriage are unconstitutional. 


Jun. 26, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Community is a source of pride

To the Editor:

Given the political rhetoric our community has witnessed over the past few months, let’s consider the positive.


Jun. 24, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Widespread voter fraud is a myth

To the Editor:

Your very pertinent editorial in Tuesday’s paper failed to discuss the alleged widespread voter fraud that inspired all the new voter registration legislation springing up like kudzu these days.


Jun. 23, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: America is not a theocracy

The North Carolina Religious Freedom Restoration Act is a misnomer.  It should be titled the "Bible Trumps the Constitution Act."

 

Jun. 21, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Freedom of speech carries heavy responsibility

To the Editor:

Before the death, before the blood, before a finger on the trigger, there were words. Someone, somewhere, taught Dylann Storm Roof to hate.


Jun. 21, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Solutions to mental illness within our grasp

To the Editor:

Suicide is a leading cause of death in the United States, and most suicides are a result of untreated mental illness.