Opinion: Letters to the Editor

Jan. 18, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Free is only part of academic opportunity

To the Editor:

The viewpoint of President Obama and of the editorial writer of your Friday editorial commentary is both too broad and too narrow.


Jan. 08, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: We need to stand together

To the Editor:

Events have cast Lee and Chatham Counties as the "Davids" in a life or death battle against a number of formidable Goliaths: the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)


Jan. 04, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Thankful for Bible's truth

To the Editor:

After reading the AP article “Egypt: Biblical epic ‘Exodus’ banned for ‘historical fallacies,’” I thought of the quote by C.S. Lewis: “There are a dozen views about everything until you know the answer. Then there’s never more than one.”


Jan. 04, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Police still need exact expression of support

Having observed the response to my recent letter to the editor from certain Lee County officials, I think it excellent that the mayor, and at least two county commissioners expressed support for our law enforcement.


Jan. 01, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Thanks for great care

To the Editor:

On Christmas Eve, I had a medical emergency that required a trip to Central Carolina Hospital via ambulance.


Dec. 31, 2014 @ 01:25 PM

LETTER: Proud of the community

To the Editor:

What an absolute pleasant surprise to read of motorcyclists and others singing outdoors to support the Sanford Police force during the heavy rain Christmas Eve.


Dec. 31, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Common sense on concealed weapons correct

To the Editor:

Before I state my case, let me say that I am a  Constitutionalist. I think that the U.S. Constitution is the greatest document ever produced by the hand of man.


Dec. 30, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: New Chatham leadership should be commended

On Dec. 13 Duke Energy announced plans for the storage of almost 3 million tons of coal ash from being stored in Chatham. Just two days later on Dec. 15, the new commissioners took a quick, decisive step to protect the citizens of Chatham from the storage of cancer causing toxic coal ash that include arsenic, lead, mercury, etc. They passed a resolution to prevent disposal of coal ash in Chatham County.


Dec. 28, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: First Amendment research brings more questions

To the Editor:

I have decided in the face of so much outright violence across America to review the First Amendment to the constitution of the United States.


Dec. 28, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Officer’s help greatly appreciated

To the Editor:

I want to express my sincere gratitude toward Officer Quick who came to my house quickly when the moving company I hired would not remove my items from their truck.


Dec. 26, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: A Christmas prayer

To the Editor:

Dear Heavenly Father,


Dec. 26, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Commissioners should demonstrate support for police

To the Editor:

In light of recent events, I find it necessary to formally request the Lee County Board of Commissioners draft a resolution voicing their support for local law enforcement.


Dec. 24, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: God is not our despair, but our hope

Letter to the Editor:

Dear American people.


Dec. 24, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Santa: America is Hurting

To the Editor:

Dear Santa,


Dec. 23, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

LETTER: Donations are the best investment

To the Editor:

Thanks to the Sanford Herald and its excellent new reporter, Kathryn Trogdon, for shining a Christmas light on the Helping Hand Clinic.


Dec. 21, 2014 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Commissioners right to reinstate gun ordinance

To the Editor:

The Lee County Board of Commissioners should be commended for reinstating the ordinance that bans concealed weapons on county property on Dec. 15.


Dec. 21, 2014 @ 04:56 AM

LETTER: Easy to find support for things you favor

To the Editor:

In reference to Jim Womack’s letter, published Dec. 14, “Only one world view is right,” I’m confused.


Dec. 20, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: New commissioners can invest in the future

To the Editor:

The citizens of Lee County can be congratulated for electing commissioners who will act with the best interests of all.Commissioners, indeed all government officials, need to look at the "big picture" and the future.


Dec. 19, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Leaders need to do more to stop Duke’s plan

To the Editor:

I am upset and disappointed in the apparent lack of concern and action of the Lee County commissioners and city council members in response to Duke Energy’s deceptive plan to transport and dump toxic coal ash in Lee County.


Dec. 18, 2014 @ 11:43 AM

LETTER: Let the healing begin

Letter to the Editor:

The Dec. 17 edition of The Sanford Herald set a new high mark for local, journalistic prowess, insight and courage…in my opinion.


Dec. 17, 2014 @ 12:12 PM

LETTER: Commissioners, ‘prepare to feel the heat’

To the Editor:

Good Afternoon, Commissioners. Today, by the way, we celebrate Bill of Rights Day.


Dec. 17, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Commissioners, ‘prepare to feel the heat’

To the Editor:

Good Afternoon, Commissioners. Today, by the way, we celebrate Bill of Rights Day.


Dec. 16, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: Thanks for a great parade

To the Editor:

I am sure I speak for everyone at the Sanford Christmas Parade to say a special “thank you” to Joe and Yenly Clancy and company, Express Employment Professionals, for making it possible for the beautiful six clydesdales, coach and working crew on the van to come to our town. What a way to bring Ol’ Santa to Sanford.


Dec. 16, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: Stop stealing wreaths

To the Editor:

This letter is for the person who is stealing wreaths off graves. I put a lighted cross on my brother’s grave at Lemon Springs Baptist Church cemetery. A few weeks later it was gone. I put a wreath on my husband’s grave at St. Andrews Church cemetery, and a week later it was gone.


Dec. 16, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Tribute to Darrell Byerly

To the Editor:

Darrell Byerly died two years ago on Dec. 20, 2012. This is a tribute to him, Marge, his wife, and two sons, Darrell Jr., David and family members. I only learned of his death a few weeks ago and broke down and cried. I often dropped by to see him and Marge; I had not realized that it had been that long. The Bible says in Revelations 14:13, “...Write, Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth: Yea, saith the spirit, that they may rest from their labors; and their works do follow them.”