Opinion

Jul. 15, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: New tech will help boost local library

The lamentable fact that there’s such a great number of people who haven’t darkened the door of a library can be blamed on more than just the fact that book reading is diminishing.


Jul. 15, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Is Lee County next?

There is a move underway to remove all Confederate Battle Flags from the country.

 

Jul. 15, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Christians rise up

To the Editor:

Christians: Where have you been? What have you been doing? Have you ignored all the signs around you? Have you failed to pay attention to our Lord's precious words in his book: The Bible?


Jul. 14, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: Pray our once great country reverses course

To the Editor:

After reading Vivian Rosser’s letter to the editor on July 8, I contemplated the many errors in her Bible knowledge and reasoning, then I said a prayer for her immortal soul. It appears Rosser either lacks a fundamental knowledge of the gospel, or she is mocking the Bible’s concepts of heaven and eternity.


Jul. 12, 2015 @ 05:05 AM

Fireworks of another kind

I don’t know how it happens, but nearly every one of our family Fourth of July plans over the last several years has been thwarted.

 

Jul. 12, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

Thumbs up and down

THUMBS DOWN: Idiots and baiting

 

Jul. 12, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: A comfort to see community come together

To the Editor:

Thank you for taking the time and space in your newspaper for “The adventures of Super Tucker,” published July 7, to help promote helping a local family and their dire need for a service dog for their little boy.


Jul. 12, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Ruling seems to redefine marriage and freedom of religion

To the Editor:

I suppose a few of the only things a man really requires for a happy life is a good woman by his side and a clear conscience just before he closes his eyes on his pillow each night.

 

Jul. 11, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Election coverage must be fair

To the Editor:

The Herald’s recent coverage of local filings has left many puzzled. City Councilman Charles Taylor was awarded the front page for filing to defend his seat


Jul. 11, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Supreme Court decision addressed civil rights, not bibilical law

To the Editor:

What don't you understand about "All men are created equal..."?


Jul. 10, 2015 @ 05:01 AM

EDITORIAL: Air monitor needed more than ever

A person will breathe, on average, more than 21,000 times per day — typically with little to no thought.


Jul. 10, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Love lost with court ruling

To the Editor:

On June 26 many stated that love won but the truth is that love lost.


Jul. 10, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Secularists cannot rewrite history or deny truth

To the Editor:

The recent letter by one of Lee County's most prominent progressive secular humanist criticizing the biblical scholar, the Rev. Bruce MacInnes, forgot some important facts.


Jul. 09, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Protect our classrooms

Lawmakers seem to be staging a piecemeal attack on public education.


Jul. 09, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: 'We want the god we want and not the God who is'

To the Editor:

After reading Neil Rotter's letter to the editor published July 4 "U.S. Supreme was right in it decision," I was left to think about which one of his points I should respond to.


Jul. 09, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Consumers have a right to know of GMO

This past Independence Day, when the light cookout conversation morphed into a discussion of rights, I hope you made a point to think about the rights you hold when it comes to food.


Jul. 08, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Pay close heed to SCOTUS dissent

A dozen days out from the Supreme Court’s decision in Obergefell vs. Hodges, which established the right of same-sex couples to marry in the U.S. under civil law


Jul. 08, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Judgment day. You be the judge?

To the Editor:

Heaven, as I see it on this day, from the eyes of a fly on the wall, has two new arrivals.


Jul. 07, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: Trap-neuter-release of feral cats does work

To the Editor:

In response to Take 5 with Terrell Jones' discussion on Community Cats (published June 27), his opinion is somewhat misleading.


Jul. 07, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Trap-neuter-release of feral cats does work

To the Editor:

In response to Take 5 with Terrell Jones' discussion on Community Cats (published June 27), his opinion is somewhat misleading.

 

Jul. 05, 2015 @ 05:02 AM

Thumbs up


Jul. 05, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

The agony and the ecstasy of the climb

It was the best of climbs; it was the worst of climbs.

 

Jul. 05, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: God is still in control

To the Editor:

America’s previous concerns over attempts by Congress to legislate morality, will dwarf in comparison to their soon-coming attempts at legislating immorality.


Jul. 04, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: U.S. Supreme was right in its decision

To the Editor:

As the Rev. MacInnis said in his letter on June 30, the U.S. Supreme Court doesn’t always get it right.


Jul. 03, 2015 @ 05:01 AM

The Declaration of Independence

When in the Course of human Events, it becomes necessary for one People to dissolve the Political Bonds which have connected them with another, and to assume among the Powers of the Earth, the separate and equal Station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them