Opinion

Dec. 28, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

Thumbs up

THUMB UP: Dusty Phillips


Dec. 28, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Stop the insanity: Selfies gone wrong

For the most part, I consider myself savvy with social media. I can tweet, post and share with the best of them. I have an account on all the major social media, have built websites, blogs and alike.


Dec. 28, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: First Amendment research brings more questions

To the Editor:

I have decided in the face of so much outright violence across America to review the First Amendment to the constitution of the United States.


Dec. 28, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Officer’s help greatly appreciated

To the Editor:

I want to express my sincere gratitude toward Officer Quick who came to my house quickly when the moving company I hired would not remove my items from their truck.


Dec. 26, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

EDITORIAL: Much more than a helping hand

It’s clear that Lee County has some of the most passionate nonprofits in the state.


Dec. 26, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: A Christmas prayer

To the Editor:

Dear Heavenly Father,


Dec. 26, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Commissioners should demonstrate support for police

To the Editor:

In light of recent events, I find it necessary to formally request the Lee County Board of Commissioners draft a resolution voicing their support for local law enforcement.


Dec. 24, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Guest editorial: Christmas entails many things, including freedom

Christmas carries a lot of different meanings for people. It wells up in each of us feelings of joy, sadness, hope, excitement, and a plethora of other thoughts and emotions.


Dec. 24, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: God is not our despair, but our hope

Letter to the Editor:

Dear American people.


Dec. 24, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Santa: America is Hurting

To the Editor:

Dear Santa,


Dec. 21, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

The Christmas Tree code

Each year, since our kids were old enough to read, the presents have gone under our Christmas tree without tags.


Dec. 21, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

Thumbs up and down

THUMBS DOWN: EPA’s decision


Dec. 21, 2014 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Commissioners right to reinstate gun ordinance

To the Editor:

The Lee County Board of Commissioners should be commended for reinstating the ordinance that bans concealed weapons on county property on Dec. 15.


Dec. 21, 2014 @ 04:56 AM

LETTER: Easy to find support for things you favor

To the Editor:

In reference to Jim Womack’s letter, published Dec. 14, “Only one world view is right,” I’m confused.


Dec. 20, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: New commissioners can invest in the future

To the Editor:

The citizens of Lee County can be congratulated for electing commissioners who will act with the best interests of all.Commissioners, indeed all government officials, need to look at the "big picture" and the future.


Dec. 19, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Progress doesn’t follow party lines

While the Sanford City Council debates whether to ask the N.C. Legislature to repeal the law that made Sanford elections partisan, we suggest that members not “ask” lawmakers to rescind the rule, but demand it be abolished altogether.


Dec. 19, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Leaders need to do more to stop Duke’s plan

To the Editor:

I am upset and disappointed in the apparent lack of concern and action of the Lee County commissioners and city council members in response to Duke Energy’s deceptive plan to transport and dump toxic coal ash in Lee County.


Dec. 18, 2014 @ 11:43 AM

LETTER: Let the healing begin

Letter to the Editor:

The Dec. 17 edition of The Sanford Herald set a new high mark for local, journalistic prowess, insight and courage…in my opinion.


Dec. 17, 2014 @ 12:12 PM

LETTER: Commissioners, ‘prepare to feel the heat’

To the Editor:

Good Afternoon, Commissioners. Today, by the way, we celebrate Bill of Rights Day.


Dec. 17, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: We’re not lacking voices, we’re lacking reason

Can you honestly remember a period in your lifetime when society has been more divisive?


Dec. 17, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Commissioners, ‘prepare to feel the heat’

To the Editor:

Good Afternoon, Commissioners. Today, by the way, we celebrate Bill of Rights Day.


Dec. 16, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

LETTER: Stop stealing wreaths

To the Editor:

This letter is for the person who is stealing wreaths off graves. I put a lighted cross on my brother’s grave at Lemon Springs Baptist Church cemetery. A few weeks later it was gone. I put a wreath on my husband’s grave at St. Andrews Church cemetery, and a week later it was gone.
 


Dec. 14, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

Still waiting for winter to arrive

Through my first two months in Sanford, I’ve had the opportunity to meet many new people, some of them community leaders, readers of The Herald, neighbors, and countless others.


Dec. 14, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

Thumbs up

As we turn the page on the week that was – and it obviously wasn’t Lee County’s best week – there is something to look forward to, something in the “good” column that speaks and reflects well of this place we live.


Dec. 14, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Only one world view is right

To the Editor:

After reading Irene Smith’s latest missive to the editorial board I pondered her list of “life and death challenges.”