Opinion

Jun. 18, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Leaders left a large loophole for Duke Energy

From the outset of Duke Energy’s plans to dump millions of tons of coal ash in Chatham and Lee counties, the nation’s largest electric power company has left communities anxious and unnerved despite claims of dealing in good faith.


Jun. 17, 2015 @ 05:01 AM

EDITORIAL: Carolina fortunate regarding hurricanes — so far

Central Carolina, in fact the entire state, has been fortunate in terms of hurricane activity, as no major storms of that sort have struck in recent years.


Jun. 17, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: None caring Congress for U.S. Navy Vietnam veterans

To the Editor:

It has come of a common opinion amongst Vietnam War veterans that Congress tends to exclude mostly Blue Water Vietnam Veterans for VA benefits.


Jun. 15, 2015 @ 04:50 PM

LETTER: Newspaper got it wrong

To the Editor:

Allow me this opportunity to apologize to the Boys and Girls Cub of Sanford and Lee County, as well Brian Davis, for a story and editorial taking out of context my response to a question posed by The Sanford Herald. That question: "Why you voted the way you did on both the Johnston-Harnett-Lee Community Action change and the Salvation Army Change?"


Jun. 14, 2015 @ 05:03 AM

Me and ‘Pinto’

Money was tight during college and one of the things which caused me continual strife was keeping four wheels underneath me.


Jun. 14, 2015 @ 05:02 AM

Thumbs up and down

THUMBS UP: Coble’s years of service


Jun. 14, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Men are fallible, God is not

To the Editor:

The U.S. Supreme Court does not always get it right. In Dredd Scott (1857) they ruled that black men were property and not citizens.


Jun. 14, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Clarifying nonprofit funding

To the Editor:

On Friday June 12, The Sanford Herald ran a follow-up editorial regarding the Lee County Commissioner’s nonprofit funding decisions.


Jun. 12, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Nonprofit funding decision doesn't add up

Year after year, local nonprofits tout their value to the Lee County Board of Commissioners and try to secure funding help.


Jun. 10, 2015 @ 05:01 AM

EDITORIAL: Duke’s track record doesn’t inspire confidence

Ever since Duke Energy first foisted its coal ash storage plan on Lee and Chatham counties, its repeated assurances of environmental responsibility have rung hollow.


Jun. 10, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

Hincks personified an honest, humble leader

The Sanford Herald has rightfully provided a lot of coverage about Herb Hincks, who passed away a few days ago.


Jun. 10, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Where’s West Lee’s graduation?

To the Editor:

I would like to stand on my desk as a concerned parent and bring attention to an unfair decision at West Lee Middle School.


Jun. 09, 2015 @ 09:52 AM

LETTER: Previous board to blame for tax increase

To the Editor:

A property tax increase is being considered by the current commissioners. This tax increase is necessary because of deliberate action by the previous board.

They grabbed money from Sanford to fund their three-penny cut. Instead of cutting expenses, they spent even more. One scheme resulted in $1.5 million more annually.


Jun. 07, 2015 @ 05:09 AM

Saddling up for the change of seasons

The seat of a tractor, I would presume, is the most advantageous place from which to watch the seasons change.


Jun. 07, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

Thumbs up

THUMBS UP: Best of the best


Jun. 07, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: We need to invest in our community

To the Editor:

The subject of taxes is more volatile around here than the hot button issues of abortion, same-sex marriage and gun control.


Jun. 07, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: God’s spirit fills the void of man’s emptiness

To the Editor:

In his interview with Diane Sawyer, Bruce (now Caitlyn) Jenner said “I would sit in church and always wonder, ‘In God’s eyes, how does he see me?’”


Jun. 05, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Hincks truly one of a kind

People in Sanford and Lee County are mourning the loss of former Lee County Commissioner Herb Hincks, who died Monday at the age of 85.


Jun. 03, 2015 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Financially empower our youth

To the Editor:

Where have all of the jobs gone for our local teens?


May. 31, 2015 @ 05:01 AM

Choosing in the game of life

This year’s high school graduates will take specific and sometimes divergent paths. Some, like myself when I graduated oh so long ago, will move back into academics and enter college in three short months.


May. 31, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

Thumbs up

THUMBS UP: Another finance award for city


May. 31, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Pass sweepstakes bill to keep people working

To the Editor:

I am in support of House Bill 922 to regulate the sweepstakes industry in North Carolina


May. 30, 2015 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Walking tour of Sanford provided facts, wonder

To the Editor:

I would like to thank the Railroad House Historical Association for hosting a walking tour of downtown Sanford on May 24.


May. 29, 2015 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Body cams would be money well spent

Let’s start with the agreed-upon facts, although they are few.


May. 29, 2015 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: City should also consider children as it grows

To the Editor:

Recently I emailed the mayor and voiced my opinion about the lack of places for our young children to go.