Opinion

May. 11, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

Thumbs up

THUMBS UP: Mother’s Day


May. 09, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Green, donors deserve praise

Marilyn Green has been a stalwart in pushing the best interests of The Helping Hand Clinic, which serves the medically uninsured of Lee County.


May. 08, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: ‘God hangs on by one vote,’ at least for the time being

The Supreme Court, by a 5-4 margin, upheld this week the opinion that prayers — including those considered Christian — at the start of local council meetings are indeed Constitutional.


May. 07, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Events should not be held on Sunday

To the Editor:

After church, we (and three of our grandchildren) went to the Fitness Fest and Family Fun Day on Sunday, April 27, at Depot Park in downtown Sanford. Why was the event held on Sunday, rather than Saturday?


May. 07, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Israel will prevail

To the Editor:

I appreciated Katherine McDonald’s article “Holocaust survivor recounts horror” in Saturday’s Herald. I commend Bianka Stumpf for providing Rebecca Hauser an opportunity to share her story.


May. 04, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Thumbs up

THUMBS UP: Primary election

The early voting period for this year’s primary election has ended. The primary itself comes down to Tuesday, when polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. across North Carolina.


May. 02, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Small sacrifice could be big help to homeless

Can you imagine being without a place to live?


May. 01, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: It's a day for prayer

"One Voice United in Prayer."

That is the theme for the National Day of Prayer, which will be observed today in Sanford — and in many other cities and towns across America.


May. 01, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Help support the Temple

To the Editor:

I have been fortunate to have seen performances of “Cats” in London and Washington, D.C.; however, the [Temple Theatre’s] 30th anniversary presentation of “Cats” was even more memorable.


May. 01, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Civic duty: Go and vote

To the Editor:

I have always heard that a drowning man will grab at a floating straw.


Apr. 30, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: 2014 Arts & Vine Festival should be on this weekend’s calendar

Got plans this weekend?

 


Apr. 30, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Negative advertising doesn’t get my vote

To the Editor:

For several weeks, voters have seen your signs by our roadways and in yards, and we have seen your advertisements on our televisions and on our social media.


Apr. 30, 2014 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: Judge owed an apology

To the Editor:

The record of the sitting Lee County Board of Commissioners is one of bad manners, bad decisions and ill-concealed contempt for the board’s constituency.


Apr. 27, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Thumbs up

THUMBS UP: Sheriff Carter


Apr. 26, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Plenty of politics behind lawsuit

To the Editor:

After reading Wednesday’s article, “Move to dismiss suit is denied,” I realized what a mockery of N.C.’s Court system this lawsuit and its players are creating.


Apr. 26, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Living life on ‘his’ terms

To the Editor:

It seems that if one seriously reads the Bible and actually takes it to heart, it would be very difficult to agree with the substance of the Rev. Ronald Stoker’s opinion expressed in his Sunday article “Easter: A love that never quits.”


Apr. 25, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Thanks to kind locals

To the Editor:

I have lived in Sanford for 22 years, and there are wonderful, caring people.


Apr. 25, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Kudos for Pittsboro’s water quality

To the Editor:

Recently the Town of Pittsboro announced that it is producing some of the best water in the Triangle.


Apr. 24, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Spring: the goodliest time of the year

Fall is a stunning season, when the leaves lose their green shade and take on vibrant hues from all colors of the rainbow. The temperature dips and the days get shorter — leading us into the holiday season.


Apr. 23, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

EDITORIAL: Commissioners right to let voters decide on bond

Every government entity faces what can sometimes seem to be an endless series of difficult decisions that, depending on how the votes fall, will have significant long-term impact on the voters they’re elected to represent and the communities they’re elected to serve.


Apr. 23, 2014 @ 04:59 AM

LETTER: Photos embodied Latinos' value to local community

To the Editor:

I have never seen such awe-inspiring photographs as those of the Via Crucis on the front and back of the A section of The Sanford Herald in the Saturday edition. We should all thank Mr. Wesley Beeson for his insightful accomplishments.


Apr. 23, 2014 @ 04:58 AM

LETTER: Umbilical cord blood needed

To the Editor:

Compassion and generosity are hallmarks of motherhood. As we look forward to this Mother’s Day, there is a singularly meaningful way that expectant mothers can show compassion and give hope to people in need: by donating umbilical cord blood.  


Apr. 23, 2014 @ 04:57 AM

LETTER: No one stands above the people

To the Editor:

“The public is reminded that it is given a generous allocation of three minutes.” This was Lee County Commissioner Jim Womack’s comment to a member of the public during a meeting, as reported in Thursday’s News & Observer.


Apr. 20, 2014 @ 05:02 AM

GUEST EDITORIAL: The Strangeness of Easter

Easter is a strange story to swallow. Perhaps this is why we’d rather swallow chocolate eggs perplexingly hatched by a bunny rabbit.


Apr. 20, 2014 @ 05:01 AM

GUEST EDITORIAL: Easter: A love that never quits

Most of us wouldn't be who we are if it wasn't for the stubborn love of someone else.