Triton coach receives NCHSAA honor

Apr. 19, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Wendy Gaines of Triton High School and Michael Gainey of Rocky Mount High School are the recipients of the ninth annual Toby Webb Coach of the Year Awards given by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association.

The two outstanding coaches will be recognized at the NCHSAA’s Annual Meeting on May 1 at the Smith Center at the University of North Carolina.

Gaines has 25 years of head coaching experience in volleyball, including 18 at Triton, and her teams have won more than 400 matches during her tenure at the Harnett County school. Her teams have earned numerous conference championships, have twice been Eastern Regional runner-up, and last fall posted a 21-4 mark, advancing to the third round of the NCHSAA playoffs.  She has also developed the Harnett Area Volleyball Club, which provides opportunities for high school, middle school and elementary school players to participate.

She serves as the sponsor of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes club at Triton while working as a nationally Board-certified math teacher. Gaines has taken students to participate in the Student Athlete Summer Institute (SASI) program provided by the NCHSAA. She is an active member of Coats Baptist Church.

Gainey has been the Rocky Mount head coach in men’s basketball since 1997 and has served as athletic director since ’99. He led teams to NCHSAA basketball state championships in 2010 and ’12.

“Wendy and Michael are dedicated professionals who epitomize in many ways the role of coaches and the far-reaching impact they have,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield. “They are most deserving of this recognition and receiving the prestigious Toby Webb Award is a credit to their service and dedication to young people.”

The Webb Award is made possible through the generosity of gifts from individuals and companies through the NCHSAA Endowment and annually recognizes an outstanding male and female coach. To be eligible for the award, a coach must be nominated by school personnel at the NCHSAA member school where he or she coaches, to have coached for a minimum of 10 years, and have made major contributions to the success of high school athletics at the school, in the community and beyond.

The awards are given in honor of Toby Webb, a member of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame who was an outstanding coach as well as a principal and superintendent. He helped turn Albemarle into a football power and posted a 103-18-6 mark as a head coach there.