Yellow Jackets celebrate fall campaigns

Dec. 06, 2012 @ 05:26 PM

Lee County High School announced and awarded all its fall sports athletic honors, ranging from all-state players to in-squad individual honors to many Yellow Jackets on all-academic teams, during its Fall Awards Night on Nov. 27.

The Lady Yellow Jacket cross country and golf programs boasted their entire teams earning Academic All-Conference places in the Tri-Nine Conference.

Senior Ben Grossfuss, as a forward on the Jacket soccer team, was the Tri-Nine Player of the Year and earned All-State and All-South Region awards. As the kicker for the Jacket football team, Grossfuss made All-Conference in the Tri-Nine.

Sixteen Yellow Jackets made an All-Conference squad on the gridiron as Lee County went 9-4 overall and 6-2 in the Tri-Nine in its last season in the conference and in NCHSAA 4A before going to 3A starting in 2013-14.

Lee County High School

Fall sports awards


All-Conference: Siranon Shoomee

Academic All-Conference: Alayna Crockett, Stephanie Dunne, Casey Eyers, Olivia Moore, Brielle Robbins, Muk Shoomee, Mary Blair Stephens, Colbie Norman Stephens, Megan Von Canon and Savannah Wicker

MVP: Siranon Shoomee

Academic: Savannah Wicker

Most Improved: Brielle Robbins

Girls’ Cross Country

Academic All-Conference: Caitlin Claffey, Shelby Davis, Allegra Hogan, Christine Holt and Mariah Rockwell

MVP: Allegra Hogan

Academic: Christine Claffey

Most Improved: Mariah Rockwell

Coach’s: Christine Holt

Boys’ Cross Country

MVP: Dalton Cox

Academic: Stephen Kirik

Most improved: Charlie Wright

Coach’s: Joseph Adcock


MVP: Elizabeth Gay

Academic: Elizabeth Gay

Most Improved: Mason Sanders

Coach’s: Sydney Blum

Conference Coach of the Year: Mary Tatum


All-Conference: Chandler Patterson, Emily Stanley

MVP: Emily Stanley

Academic: Elyse Cooper

Most Improved: De’ja Bland

Coach’s: Chandler Patterson


All-Conference: Chase Arrington, Kyle Flood, James Foushee, Ben Grossfuss, T.J. Lett, Kashawn McDougald, Harris Ray, Brian Stryffeler and Elijah West

All-Conference Honorable Mention: Cody Lanier, R.J. McAuley, Reese Setzer, Matthew Totten, Dante Graham, Nolan Groce and Austin Johnson

Offensive MVPs: Brian Stryffeler, Elijah West, Cody Lanier, Austin Johnson and Reese Setzer

Defensive MVP: Kyle Flood

Academic: Chase Arrington

Most Improved: James Foushee

Coach’s: T.J. Lett


All-Conference: Ben Grossfuss and William Carter

MVP: Ben Grossfuss

Academic: Daniel Briggs

Most Improved: Dalton Spivey

Coach’s: William Carter