Seven Lady Jackets earn all-conference honors

May. 28, 2014 @ 05:02 AM

Seven Lee County softball players, led by Chandler Patterson, Caroline Wilson and Whitney Sanford on the first team, made the Cape Fear Valley's All-Conference Team as the conference honors were released last week.

The Lady Yellow Jackets finished 13-5 overall and 10-2 as runner-up of the Cape Fear Valley Conference in Lee County's first CFVC season.

Gray's Creek (20-2, 12-0) won the CFVC season championship and defeated Lee County in the conference tournament final.

Six of the seven Lady Jackets who earned league honors are either sophomores or freshmen. Chandler Patterson, who's going on to play collegiately at Campbell, is the only senior.

Patterson, a four-year starter at shortstop for the Lady Jackets, has been an all-state player as a freshman, sophomore and junior. She's been Lee County's team MVP for four straight years and was all Tri-Nine Conference, Lee County's previous league, three times.

Patterson hit .483 with five home runs, six doubles, 27 RBI and 24 runs this season. For her career, she hit .510 and had 21 homers.

Wilson, a sophomore catcher, hit .344 with five doubles and 16 RBI this season. Sanford, a freshman pitcher/outfielder, went 3-2 with a 3.37 ERA in seven games pitching and hit .452 with 12 RBI.

Union Pines had three Lady Vikings make first-team all-conference: junior shortstop Brooke Briggs, senior center fielder Lexie Coxe and senior infielder Shelby Calcutt.

Southern Lee senior center fielder Erin Pickens was the lone Lady Cavalier to make the first team.

Gray's Creek senior Sarah Watson won CFVC Player of the Year. Watson hit .693 for the season with 61 RBI in 22 games. She had 20 doubles, seven homers and three triples.

Lee County had three players on the second team: freshman third baseman Tessa Wilson, freshman first baseman Jacie Arrington and sophomore pitcher/second baseman Savannah Patterson. Sophomore pitcher Morgan Pedley made honorable mention.


Cape Fear Valley Conference

All-Conference Team

First Team

Sarah Watson, Gray's Creek - Player of the Year

Chandler Patterson, Lee County

Caroline Wilson, Lee County

Whitney Sanford, Lee County

Erin Pickens, Southern Lee

Shelby Calcutt, Union Pines

Brooke Briggs, Union Pines

Lexie Coxe, Union Pines

Taylor Jackson, Gray's Creek

Taylor Strickland, Gray's Creek

Leah Huggins, Gray's Creek

Second Team

Savannah Patterson, Lee County

Jacie Arrington, Lee County

Tessa Wilson, Lee County

Shay Garton, Union Pines

Carrie Marks, Union Pines

Taylor Powell, Gray's Creek

Emily Fox, Gray's Creek

Lynnsey Taylor, Gray's Creek

Deja Dawson, Douglas Byrd

Alex White, Douglas Byrd

Coach of the Year - Stuart Gilmer, Gray's Creek