Eight Jackets earn 1st team All-CFVC spots

Dec. 01, 2013 @ 05:02 AM

The Cape Fear Valley Conference released its all-conference football honors on Saturday.

The conference's coaches voted Douglas Byrd senior running back/quarterback/returner Alonzo Hurtado as the Offensive Player of the Year. Douglas Byrd senior linebacker Montez Samuels is the Defensive Player of the Year. Gray's Creek junior kicker/punter Taylor Sawicki is the Special Teams Player of the Year. Douglas Byrd's Russell Stone is the Coach of the Year.

Lee County, which went 9-3 overall and finished second with a 5-1 CFVC season, had eight players make the First Team; four Yellow Jackets on each side of the ball.

Douglas Byrd went 12-3 overall and 6-0 to win the Cape Fear Valley. The Eagles lost to Hunt in the NCHSAA 3AA state quarterfinals Friday night.


Cape Fear Valley Conference

All-Conference Team

First Team - Offense


Duane' Bland, Lee County, jr.

Running back

Calvin Boyd, Gray's Creek, so.

Jahmaal Daniel, Terry Sanford, sr.

Alonzo Hurtado, Douglas Byrd, sr.

Jerry Pullum, Lee County, jr.

Justis Richardson, Gray's Creek, sr.


Jonathan Blackmon, Terry Sanford, jr.

Aaron Blockmon, Southern Lee, sr.

Jose Sanchez, Douglas Byrd, sr.

Offensive line

Marley Conley, Douglas Byrd, jr.

Tyler Evers, Terry Sanford, sr.

Nolan Groce, Lee County, sr.

Mike Martin, Douglas Byrd, so.

Tyler Southern, Union Pines, sr.

First Team - Defense

Defensive line

Khalil Ashali, Douglas Byrd, sr.

Paris Black, Terry Sanford, jr.

Byron Cousin, Douglas Byrd, sr.

Thomas Ferguson, Lee County, sr.


Alex Brantley, Douglas Byrd, sr.

Orrion Hill, Gray's Creek, sr.

Willie McDonald, Douglas Byrd, sr.

Derrick McIver, Lee County, jr.

Defensive back

Pressley Hales, Lee County, sr.

Phillip Hall, Union Pines, sr.

Eric Peed, Douglas Byrd, sr.

Will Shoop, Lee County, jr.

Second Team - Offense


Elijah Bulger, Douglas Byrd, sr.

Running back

Dana Dudley, Douglas Byrd, so.

Raheem Generette, Douglas Byrd, jr.

Kaleb Johnson, Union Pines, sr.

Jordan McRae, Terry Sanford, so.


Demarius Hampton, Union Pines, jr.

Isaiah Morris, Gray's Creek, jr.

Deonte Richardson, Westover, sr.

Offensive line

Grayson Johnson, Union Pines, sr.

Aaron Love, Southern Lee, sr.

Ethan Lucas, Lee County, jr.

Isaiah Rainey, Gray's Creek, sr.

Olisaemeka Udoh, Terry Sanford, sr.

Second Team - Defense

Defensive line

Josh Armstrong, Terry Sanford, sr.

Jamie Cummings, Gray's Creek, sr.

Brandon Prevatte, Lee County, sr.

Darquese Robinson, Douglas Byrd, so.


John Husky, Union Pines, sr.

Dalton Parker, Southern Lee, sr.

Conner Showalter, Southern Lee, jr.

Makyi Sanders, Gray's Creek, jr.

Defensive back

Dante Buckley, Gray's Creek, sr.

Jeff Gibson, Gray's Creek, sr.

Thomas Jordan, Terry Sanford, sr.

Isaiah Stallings, Terry Sanford, so.