Lady Jackets collect state, district postseason honors

Jul. 03, 2014 @ 03:35 PM

Lee County had five Lady Yellow Jackets earn all-state honors and seven receive all-district spots from the North Carolina Softball Coaches Association for the 2014 season.

The best news of all the postseason accolades for the Lady Jackets is six of the seven players will be back for seasons to come following a 13-5 season this spring in which Lee County finished second in the season and tournament in its first campaign within the Cape Fear Valley Conference and made the state tournament in its first NCHSAA 3A year.

Chandler Patterson is the only senior of the Lady Jacket group. Patterson earned all-state honors for the fourth straight year. She's headed to Campbell on scholarship to continue her softball career.

Patterson, a shortstop, finished her career hitting .510 with 21 home runs. She was all-conference three years in the Tri-Nine Conference (4A) and this past year in the CFVC. This season, she hit .483 with 27 RBI, 24 runs, six doubles, two triples and five homers.

Sophomore catcher Caroline Wilson, freshman third baseman Tessa Wilson, freshman pitcher/outfielder Whitney Sanford and freshman first baseman Jacie Arrington were named all-state and all-district.

Sophomore pitcher/infielder Savannah Patterson and sophomore pitcher/infielder Morgan Pedley made all-district.

Caroline Wilson had a .344 batting average with 16 RBI and five doubles. Tessa Wilson hit .460 with 25 runs, 24 RBI and eight doubles. Sanford hit .452 and went 3-2 pitching. Arrington hit .482 and scored 19 runs. Savannah Patterson hit .412 with 17 RBI and a 5-1 pitching mark. Pedley hit .390 with 14 RBI and nine doubles while going 3-2 pitching.

North Carolina Softball Coaches Association

2014 All-State Players


Chandler Patterson, Lee County (Sr./SS)

Caroline Wilson, Lee County (So./C)

Tessa Wilson, Lee County (Fr./3B)

Whitney Sanford, Lee County (Fr./P, OF)

Jacie Arrington, Lee County (Fr./1B)

Anna Jasper, Northwood (So./P)

Alexa Bernard, Northwood (Jr./CF)

Ally McKee, Northwood (Fr./1B)

McKenzie Allgood, Northwood (So./3B)

Carson Shaner, Northwood (Fr./RF)

Lindsey Champion, Triton (So./1B, P, 2B)

Erica Occena, Triton (Sr./OF)

Emma Thomas, Triton (Jr./SS, 3B)

Lexie Coxe, Union Pines (Sr./CF)


Antonia Nelson, Chatham Central (Sr./C)

Anna Brafford, Chatham Central (Jr./CF)

Katelyn Moody, Chatham Central (Sr./SS)

Madison Davis, Chatham Central (So./P, OF)

Cyrenia Chalfinch, North Moore (So./P)

Casey Turner, North Moore (Jr./SS)

Heather Dunmyer, North Moore (Sr./CF)

Leah Salzwedel, North Moore (So./3B)

Kristen McLeod, North Moore (So./LF)

Holly Martindale, North Moore (Jr./2B)


Holly Clark, Jordan-Matthews (So./P)

Madison Poe, Jordan-Matthews (Sr./SS)

Dee DeCristofaro, Jordan-Matthews (So./C)

Hanna Stackhouse, Jordan-Matthews (Fr./1B)


Natalie Stewart, Harnett Central (Jr./SS)

Brittany Clark, Harnett Central (Sr./SS, 3B)

Jordan Adcox, Overhills (Fr./C, SS)

Megan Buse, Overhills (Jr./C, SS)

Anna Bridgeman, Pinecrest (Jr./1B, 3B)

Bobbie McDaniel, Pinecrest (Sr./P, SS)

Bri Embler, Pinecrest (So./CF)

Carmen Love, Pinecrest (Jr./C)

Daniel Gollehon, Pinecrest (So./1B)

Jordan Blake, Pinecrest (Fr./P, SS)

Madison Thum, Pinecrest (So./OF, IF, P)