NC State announces 10-person class for sports hall

May. 13, 2013 @ 05:04 PM

Receiver Torry Holt and basketball players Tommy Burleson and Ronnie Shavlik are headed into North Carolina State's sports hall of fame.

The school on Monday announced a class that also includes former basketball coach Norm Sloan, former football coach Earle Edwards and women's basketball player Andrea Stinson.

Pitcher Mike Caldwell, runner Betty Springs Geiger, swimmer Steve Gregg and wrestler Sylvester Terkay also were elected.

San Diego Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers also was voted in but is deferring his induction until his schedule gives him time to attend the ceremony.

The 10 inductees will be enshrined on Nov. 22.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.