Lady Vikings lead All-CFVC soccer team

May. 15, 2013 @ 05:01 AM

Union Pines, following its Cape Fear Valley Conference girls soccer title this spring, had a pair of underclassmen earn two of the three league's top individual postseason honors.

Junior midfielder Kooba Richard was named the CFVC's Offensive Player of the Year. Richard totaled 37 goals and 18 assists for the season. Fellow Lady Viking midfielder Abby Verchick, a sophomore, was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Western Harnett's Hannah Pieper earned Goalkeeper of the Year for the confernce.

Five more Lady Vikings made the All-CFVC Team: Elena D'Argenio, Hannah Kiser, Christine Kidd, Samantha Paterson and Ashlee Speck. Union Pines went 17-2-3 overall and 11-0-1 in the CFVC. The Lady Vikings fell in the second round of the state tournament, 2-1 to Williams, on Saturday.

Southern Lee, which fell 4-1 at Williams in the first round of states, had three players make All-CFVC - Kasslynn Ansted, Yusimar Gonzalez and Vicky Monroy.

Monroy, a senior forward/midfielder, leaves the Lady Cavs as a four-time all-conference player and a two-time Player of the Year in the CFVC. She's signed to play at Methodist University starting in the fall.

The Lady Cavaliers (9-8-1), Overhills (12-5-3) and Gray's Creek (10-7-1) were the other CFVC squads to make the state tournament.

Southern Lee senior Dazym Rodriguez, Union Pines' Maddie Walden and Western Harnett's Monica Cuevas were among those on the Sportsmanship Team.

Girls soccer

2013 Cape Fear Valley Conference

All-Conference Team

Kooba Richard, Union Pines - Offensive Player of the Year

Abby Verchick, Union Pines - Defensive Player of the Year

Hannah Pieper, Western Harnett - Goalkeeper of the Year

Kasslynn Ansted - Southern Lee

Vicky Monroy - Southern Lee

Yusimar Gonzalez - Southern Lee

Katie Caylor - Gray's Creek

Kelsey Carpenter - Gray's Creek

Leah Plunkett - Gray's Creek

Elena D'Argenio - Union Pines

Hannah Kiser - Union Pines

Christine Kidd - Union Pines

Samantha Paterson - Union Pines

Ashlee Speck - Union Pines

Rochelle Forbes - Western Harnett

Darinka Gonzalez - Western Harnett

Alyssa Medina - Western Harnett

Abby Gorwill - Westover

Selena Willmann - Westover

Maurissa Wilson - Douglas Byrd

Candace Jordan Russell - Douglas Byrd

Coach of the Year - Elnetta Buck, Douglas Byrd