Lady Bears glove conference awards

Jun. 16, 2013 @ 05:01 AM

Capping a 26-2 season which ended in the final four of the state tournament and with both Yadkin Valley softball titles, Chatham Central's Kelsey Hayes was named the conference's Player of the Year and head coach Mike Langone was the YVC's Coach of the Year as the conference's spring sports honors came out last week.

Chatham Central went through the YVC season and tournament undefeated and spent much of the season top-ranked in 1A in the state by the N.C. Softball Coaches Association.

Hayes, a senior, was the Lady Bears' primary pitcher as Chatham Central recorded 12 shutouts, including four shutouts through the first four rounds of the state tournament.

Senior catcher Erin Sugg and senior third baseman Cayley Oldham made the all-conference team. Sugg is going on to a scholarship with North Carolina.

Lady Bears Kayla Williamson and Jessica Cockman made honorable mention all-Yadkin Valley.

Yadkin Valley Conference

Spring all-conference members

Chatham Central


First team: Kelsey Hayes (Player of the Year), Cayley Oldham, Erin Sugg

Honorable mention; Jessica Cockman, Kayla Williamson


First team: Zack Burke, Seth Elkins, Chase Fuquay

Track and field

Boys 400: LaQuinn Mordecai

Boys 3,200: Chris Jaeger

Boys Long jump: LaQuinn Mordecai

Field Athlete of the Year runner-up: LaQuinn Mordecai


First team: Lupita Gomez, Katleen Morris

North Moore


First team: Jessie Sheffield, Heather Dunmyer, Casey Turner, Cyrenia Chalflinch


First team: Dustin Morrison, Kirby Lambert

Track and field

Girls high jump: Teosha Horn

Girls triple jump: Alicia Baldwin

Girls shot put: Mone Little

Girls discus: Courtney Spencer, Brenda Richardson

Field Athlete of the Year (co-winner): Alicia Baldwin, (runner-up) Mone Little

Boys 300 hurdles: Denzel Herron